Because life is too short to not enjoy Deelicious things…


While running on the treadmill the other day, I was watching Food Wars (the irony, I know) and the episode on at the time focused on a cheeseburger called the Ju[i]cy Lucy. Disputed to be created at either Matt’s Bar or the 5-8 Club in Minneapolis, it’s a burger where the cheese is melted inside the burger rather than on top of it. As a burger lover, naturally I had to try it and was a little disappointed in myself that I hadn’t already.

I made two burgers with two different cheeses: regular good ol’ American cheese (even if it isn’t really cheese) and Pepper Jack cheese. Both were pretty good but neither tasted as good as it looked on Food Wars where the cheese was gushing out endlessly. I chalk that up to my patty formation and cooking method though. Still, they were really good burgers and a fabulous way to end a hurricane weekend. I’ll have to experiment more in the future and try out different techniques to make the cheese perfect!

 

Form two patties about 4-5 inches in diameter and about 1/2 centimeters thick.

Place a square of American cheese folded into quarters or whichever cheese you’d like in the center of one patty. For my second patty I just cut up some slices of Pepper Jack.

Carefully pick up the patty with no cheese on top and place it directly over the other patty. Smush the two patties together leaving no space between the cheese and the beef. I find it helps if you make the top patty just slightly smaller in diameter and fold the bottom, bigger patty over the top to seal the two together.

Place the patty in the refrigerator to chill for about 10 minutes or so. This colder cheese doesn’t melt as fast this way and doesn’t end up spilling into your pan as much. After chilling, cook your patty for 5-6 minutes over medium heat.

Cut up some veggies while the patty is cooking. I went with a simple tomato and red onion combo with some pickles on the side.


When the patty is done cooking, place it on top of the bun and assemble your burger!

While the cheese could have come out a lot better (the cheese in the first patty I made started to leak in the middle of cooking), the burgers were still quite tasty and eating them this way is going to make it hard to go back to the cheese-on-top method!

Leave a Reply

